Cricket in India is handled by Board of control for cricket (BCCI) and richest board of cricket as compared to other countries cricket board.

India has a unique and brilliant domestic structure of cricket to promote the cricket in India which every Indian cricket has to follow or pursue to represent the International cricket from India. The player which perform well in domestic cricket they call by BCCI to represent International cricket from India.

Structure of India Cricket further divided into categories –

  1. First class competition

  2. Limited over cricket

  3. Twenty20 competition

First class competition

Ranji trophy

Ranji trophy is founded as Cricket Championship of India in the meeting of BCCI in 1934. In Ranji trophy, all the states of India represent their team in this trophy. The number of teams has increased over the years. Some states have more than one team e.g. Maharashtra and Gujarat. There is also a team from Railways and Services that represent the armed forces. Teams are further divided into zones- East, West, North, and South.

kerala team celebrates on fall of wicket of opposition

Duleep trophy

Duleep trophy is also a first-class cricket competition started by BCCI in 1961 which main focus on greater competition in domestic cricket of India. This tournament helps the selectors to check from top cricketers playing’s against each other.

Rest of india team with trophy

Irani trophy

This tournament was started during 1959-60 in occasion of the completion of 25th Ranji trophy Championship and was name after Late ZR Irani, who was an active member of Board of control for cricket (BCCI) . The first match of this championship is played between the Ranji trophy champion and Rest of India.

Viddharbha team with trophy

Limited over cricket

Deodar trophy

This championship is related with one-day cricket championship. It was started in 1973-74 by Board of control for cricket (BCCI). In this contest, 5 zonal teams are making the part which includes North Zone, South zone, West zone, East zone, and Central zone. But from 2015-16 to 2017-18 it was contested by the winners of Vijay Hazare, India A, and India B. but after this starting in 2018-19, it has promoted to India A, India B, India C.

jharkhand team with trophy

Vijay Hazare Trophy

This trophy is started in 2002-03 as try to deliver limited over game among a greater audience. This tournament commits the state’s teams from Ranji trophy battling in 50 over format. This tournament is also known as Premium cup by BCCI.

mayank aggarwal is hitting the ball

BCCI Corporate Trophy

BCCI set up 12 teams inter- corporate tournament in 2009 that include all top cricketers of India. This tournament also involves 50 over a side match.

Participants of bcci corporate trophy

Twenty-20 competition

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

This tournament is started after the huge success of Indian premium league (IPL). In the season 2008-09. This tournament involves the shortest format of cricket. The main aim of BCCI to launched this tournament to search more talent in growing regions of cricket.

Delhi team with trophy

Indian Premium League (IPL) 

This league is launched by BCCI in 2007-08. In this players are selected via auction and drafted into city-based franchises. In this International players are also involved. The total prize money of this tournament is $3 Million and this league is ranked 6th among all the sports league exist in the world.csk team with ipl trophy

Interstate T-20 championship

When India become the member of ICC T-20 after played its first international T-20 match against South Africa. Then BCCI launch its own state structure T-20 tournament in 2006-07. In this tournament 27 ranji teams divided into 5 zones. This competition was later replaced by IPL.

Tamil nadu state team with trophy