In Australia, in order to become a chiropractor, individuals need to complete at least five years of relevant studies – perhaps in the form of a double degree Bachelor’s or with a Master’s.

There are only a couple of universities which offer chiropractic-related degrees domestically, including RMIT University in Victoria, Macquarie University in New South Wales, Murdoch University in Western Australia, and Central Queensland University in Queensland. All four offer unique courses in chiropractic and have produced thousands of qualified and practising chiropractors in the field today.

Below, we’ve summarised some information on the different chiropractic degrees offered at respective university courses.

RMIT University

At RMIT University, students can study a double degree of Bachelor of Health Science and Bachelor of Applied Science (Chiropractic) in order to become a chiropractor. The five-year program will help students build a solid understanding and background in anatomy, physiology, and pathology, while also granting them clinical and hands-on experience at the RMIT Health Clinic.

Chiropractors graduating through RMIT University will need to undergo intense students and training in order to ensure they are qualified to perform natural therapy on patients. Students will need to pass various assessments, including writing essays, reports, participating in oral classes and making presentations, completing research and laboratory projects as well as practical assignments.

Macquarie University

Individuals can study an undergraduate degree of Bachelor of Chiropractic Science at Macquarie University, coupled with a Master of Chiropractic. It is only after both are completed that students can become qualified chiropractors in Australia.

By studying both of these degrees, students also have the option to delve into other related career paths, such as integrated care professional, researcher, sports injury specialist, healthcare advisor, and rehabilitation service provider. Students can also combine their chiropractic degree with a Bachelor of Medical Sciences (or a similar degree) at Macquarie University.

Murdoch University

Murdoch University teaches students how to diagnose, treat and prevent pain and disability of the spine, and later work as a registered chiropractor, performing on the musculoskeletal system. In order to become a qualified chiropractor through Murdoch University, students will need to complete a double degree, first a Bachelor of Chiropractic Science (which takes three years) and next to a Bachelor of Clinical Chiropractic (another two years).

At Murdoch University, students in chiropractic will learn how to perform manual therapies for the spine and extremities, rehabilitation and physical therapy, become well-versed in clinical anatomy, neurology, and radiology.

Central Queensland University

Students can study a Bachelor of Science (Chiropractic) at Central Queensland University, as well as a Master of Clinical Chiropractic. Students will need to complete both in order to work as a qualified chiropractor in Australia.

Central Queensland University makes sure to teach students in a patient-centered environment, as well as help them to develop a range of spinal and patient assessment procedures. Students will also learn how to apply basic therapeutic approaches to common musculoskeletal issues in patients.

Want to learn more about becoming a chiropractor through university? Consider contacting your local chiropractor for more information and learn about their experiences studying in Australian universities first-hand.